Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study

For a University to prosperous, it is very important that the students studying there must outperform. This can be possible only if they understand their true potential. I strongly feel that Universities must encourage its students to participate in courses outside their comfort zone. This will definitely help them scrutinize their interests.

Firstly, I believe that we as students take up courses due to peer pressure, job availability in that arena, parent's choice etc. We never focus what we truly want. It is the responsibility of a good university to help its students introspect and then decide their course. Also, studying courses different from their field of study will help them understand if their choice was right or wrong.

Secondly, indulging in different courses may help the student to form a link and understand the reasoning and logics from an all together different perspective. This may also prove to be a kind of recreation for him/her. For instance, my friend took economics as an extra subject being a science student. This helped her to build a logical mind. Moreover, a wide range of opportunities were opened for her.

Last but not the least, having the knowledge of different fields apart from our own field of interest is never a drawback. Knowledge is never wasted. It will definitely help the student in the time when it is least expected.

To conclude, I would strongly stand by my opinion that universities should encourage its students to get into other courses outside the one of their own interest.