Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

The topic raises a thought-provokingstatement that universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying. I strongly agree with this statement because people tend to do things with more dedication and interest in which they are interested.

Survey conducted in Unviversity of Washington states that the number of university dropouts of students who took the subject due to other factors have been more compared to the students who took subject of their interest. Subject of interest not only motivates them but also helps them to work hard and and excel in that. For instance, when I was in School I used to like Math a lot. I used to listen to math classes and try to solve problems on my own. Even if I won't be able to solve any, I used to work hard to know the concepts and the way of solving it. It used to give me an immense satisfaction and happiness when I used to succesfully solve them but that wasn't the case with Science. As I used to loathe that subject and I used to feel very difficult to understand it.

Research in human psychology states that students who took the subject of their interest during their university tends to be more satisfied with what they are doing in their life. Morover, students who took the subject due to other factors have a wish/ urge to do what they like even if they are excelling in their career. They feel regret at some point of time. Fo example I used to have a high scool friend who was very much fascinated by the Aeroplanes and how they work. He always wanted to become an Aeronoutical Engineer from his childhood. But, during the selection of Subject he became a bit skeptical about it as it has very few job opportunities. So he ended up choosing Computer Science Engineering. He is a succesfull computer Science Enginner now but he always wishes to go back and change his deciscion as he feels he will never be able to complete his dreams.

People who have contradictory opinion on University should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying may argue that there are bunch of other factors which also should be considered while choosing a subject other than interest. I partly agree with that but only very few people will be able to excel in that case. For majority of people Subject of interest plays a very important role.

In Conclusion, I would like to say that University should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying. Because it not only motivates the students to work hard and stick to it even if they find it difficult at some point of time but also give them immense happiness and satisfaction even later in the life.