Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and supporting

The prompt suggests that universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studing. I mostly disagree with the claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my stance.

FIrstly, universities should require students to take courses that will help them perform better at their chosen career, regardless of whether or not they are interested in the topics. What's most important for the job trumps what is interesting to the student. Additionally, not every student pursuing the same career will be interested or uninterested in the same topics. Some students may find all of the classes they've taken for their degree to be interesting; on the other hand, other students may find that half of the classes are unstimulating. Furthermore, it is imperative that the cirruculum provides the knowledge necessary for the students to be proficient in their chosen career path.

To expand on the point, how can the universities standardize degree requirements by only requiring students to take courses within their own fields of interest? It wouldn't make sense if two people could earn the same degree without having the take the same classes. If this were allowed, students would be allowed to enter a profession with a fraction of the knowledge needed to perform well. A study from Stanford showed that students who excelled in classes that they were not interested in, yet found important, performed better in their chosen career than those studen that performed poorly in the classes they found uninteresting.

Although, in contrast to my position, students may earn better grades in their classes if they are actually interested in what they're studying. Students will pay greater attention in class and find the experience more enjoyable overall. However, since not all students find the same courses within the fields they are interested in studying appealing, this recommendation would be be successful. Thus, it is of utmost importance that students take the courses that will help them perform well at their chosen career.

In conclusion, although it is true that students may enjoy their classes more if they only take courses within their field of interest, taking classes that will help them succeed are their chosen career is more important.