Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Education is fundamental necessity and a crucial part of human development. Students get their elemnetary education in schools but then when they enter universities they are being shaped as the capable individuals who will be able to lead a successful life after college. Thus, when the question comes to the courses which should be taught to the students while they are studying in university becomes a very critical question and needs a significant deliberation before commenting anything on it. In my opinion it is very supportive of university if they permit students to do the courses only which they are intersted in but I do not entirely support the idea.

It seems prudent if students are allowed to take the courses according to what they like. As, this will save a lot of tutuion fees for the courses they do not have to do, they will be determined nd concentrated to what they really like and thus producing the optimal result which will be to become successful individuals in their lives. But this has a major flaw. We are excluding a major section of students who are not sure as to what to do and what field they like or what to do in future. Most probably they will be taking courses in different fields and diiferent courses according to what they like. Ultimately, by end of their university life they will be confused and unsure about their field. Thus, their entire university life will be futile to them and in some sense they will be failure in their life.

Secondly, it seems befitting that students should do what courses they like but whatif they themselves don't know what theya actually like. For instance, a student loves mathematics in high school and thinks of pursuing mathematics once the student goes to university, but is unaware of the fact that in high schools we are not introduced with abstract mathematics and probably he will never like doing algebra or real analysis (to name some abstract mathematics subjects). For him, it will be a waste of time to study mathematics and also he will mhave to put extra efforts on his own to learn or find out something else that he probably can do and then try to bend his career towards that direction.

So it although sounds logical that sutdents should be allowed to do only courses they like, this excludes the possible harm that might happen to the students who don't have a clue as to what to do or who have taken the course due to some misconception or peer pressure. What can be done is let the university students have a set of common courses maybe for first couple of semesters, which will essentially serve the purpose of giving students a taste of different fields of studies. This will help them to better assess as to what they can possibly study in future in university. It might happen that students have to choose a field before coming coming to the university , in that case, a flexibility can be provided to the the students to shift their degree or field before their degree studies start. For instance, in a university in India , BITS, students are provided general courses for first two semesters and then they are provided with the flexibility to shift their degree according to their own choice if they want to. This makes them better judge for themselves to take right decision for their studies , subsequently their future.

This this concludes my stance, that although it sounds appealing that universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are intersted in , this lacks in point of making students better judge for themselves and thus their might be deficiency in complete education of student which in turn will lack the quality of being developed citizen, this is a failure to the purpose of education.