Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

University courses are not to be taken just for the purpose of degree. Passionate students take them to achieve their goal and continue in their area of interest. Yes, Universities should provide students to take only courses that they are interested and have a zeal to pursue their career in particular field. Objective of taking courses is to gain knowledge and apply them in their long life career. It is agreeable that taking courses for credits or just to have a degree is similar to wasting their valuable time just for certificate.

Taking whole lot of courses offered can be very costly for a student who have a clear goal in what to achieve. Money should be valued and can be effectively used in only required courses. Apart from money, time is also a valuable criteria to be considered. Spending much time on specific field can increase in depth knowledge. Finally, eveything depends on students passion and goal. To mention a consequence opposing view, for a student who is undecided or who is not clear in his goals , taking all courses in a vague manner would be beneficial. He may be able to decide his interest after he starts taking class. Also, if a student has false sense of interest then it may be a problem if he takes up the course and get demotivated while pursuing them. However, if a student is very clear in his goals and ambitious then taking courses only within those fields is an advantage. Giving back to society is one of the main objective of education. Any course or benign passion finally have impact on current society. Taking specialized courses of their interest motivates them to aim higher, aslo they can create a positive impact in ashorter time.

Taking courses is a matter of longevity. They may have to involve in that particular field for a longer time, indeed for their entire life, hence they should not be bored of work. For example, if a person is very much keen in learning about on technical knowledge of particular field, there is no way he gets interested in management subjects. Likewise, a person who is more into mananging, can not find technical more interesting. However, there may be basic courses which are essential to both of them for instance, ethnics of corporate world. Irrespective of getting bored they have to take them.

To summarize, Universities offering specialized courses narrowed to students interest is very much effective is student is clear and ambitious towards his goals. Hence, Universities must also offer such facility to their students.