Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Interest of students while designing a curriculum is one of the most significant factors in my opinon as the subjects studied in universities play a huge role in deciding a students' carrer.I agree to the proponent by the author to allow students to choose courses within the fields of their interest.

If universities allow students flexibility to choose courses in fields of their interest,such a policy will encourage students to find out their areas of interest which ultimately helps the students in the long run as they won't be in a dilemna of what they want to pursue after completing their education.Also when students choose subjects based on interest, they can show a great zeal for learning the concepts involved as part of the subject's curriculum.Also the students can learn a lot from their like-minded peers.

When students pursue their interests we can assume that the attendance in that particular subject is bound to increase as students wil atttend those lectures with the motive of learning, and in turn can help reduce the problem of skipping classes by students faced by universities.

Another advantage of such a policy is to reduce the stress on students by eliminating subjects which students have no interest and find incomprehensible.Therefore , by implementing such a policy the university is providing students with the oppurtunity to focus on their interests and remove unwanted burden from them which in turn will help students improve grades since the subjects which caused their grade to decline becuase of no interest are no longer part of their curriculum.

Although if such a policy is being implemented it has to be designed very meticuluously as there are some fundamental subjects which can't be skipped . For e.g Mathematics , if someone is pursuing engineering and they find maths hard then the option to skip maths won't seem relevant as it is an integral part of an engineers curriculum.

With all the factors considered if by implementing a policy through which a student is able to learn and focus on his interests, then in my view such a policy will defintely be integral in the growth of students as well as society.