As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowledge is an inherent part of human development that provide ways to grow personally, intellectually, and professionally. The prompt statement suggests that an inundation of knowledge – or more specifically “information” – causes an individual to become convoluted in the matrix of ideas that lead one person into more meticulous details of the subject. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this statement due to two obvious reasons. I am going to offer two detailed supporting ideas, backed by practical examples that will definitely disprove the prompt statement.

First of all, knowledge is an elementary benchmark that differentiates human beings from animals. As compared to humans, most of the wildly animals do not have the ability to acquire, analyze and process the information in their surroundings to make a valid decision. Moreover, as we get more knowledge, we explore its practicality, make it more efficient, and utilize it to make our lives better. In anyway, it does not make us unclear the objectives we are steadfast to achieve. For example, mechanical engineers study the most fundamental aspects of machines relating to their motion, forces, and constraints. Based on that information, they make mathematical models that define the working of giant, complex machines that produce energy to run the economy of a specific country. Suppose, if engineers were to put a full stop on their research, claiming that it is becoming complex, the economic progress of the country would become badly affected. So, an in-depth understanding/knowledge of the subject enables us to explore the more deeply. Also, it helps in unraveling the undiscovered regions in the field that eventually lead to groundbreaking discoveries.

Secondly, the pursuit of knowledge makes us a better human being and enables us to become more ethical, professional and spirited to chase our dreams. Given that the person is steadfast, the difficulties in the path of knowledge are greatly eased. Take the example of the Indian mathematician Ramanujan. He resided in a small village in India, where he would write his mathematical theorems on the walls. He struggled to send this theories to England and get himself published. Later, he forwarded his theorem to Cambridge where the professors were stunned to see his genius works. However, they asked if he could prove proofs. Ramanujan eventually had difficulties in proving most of his theorems. Indeed, it was very challenging to him. He spent many years working on them and got tuberculous in the process. Even then, he did not give up his passion excusing the complex nature of his subject. If he would have given up so easily, his archive explored in 2018 would not have been used to study the behavior of black holes in the present age.

Having said that, critics may argue that in the advent of modern mass communications, the television broadcasting channels belie the real imagery of the worldly events, resulting in the creation of biased opinion in the public and more confusion and anxiety. This may not be true. Because, the nature of people varies from town to town, cities to cities, and country to country. The literacy rate of countries also vary and eventually so does the intellectual levels. One cannot take a substrate from the pool of society to make a generalized version of some issue.

Lastly, I believe that acquiring more knowledge increases the erudition of an individual, social behavior and pragmatic approach, causing him to become an expert in his domain and good citizen in his community.