As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but
more complex and mysterious.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the
statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and
supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or
might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.
The argument is motivated by the thought that " with increasing complexity the gradient of understanding decreases" , this argument is acceptable to an extent, since as we
know more and more about anything, the components or parts to understand and connect within it increase resulting much more complex theory. However, this does not
necessarily imply that with more knowledge we can't comprehend what we now know about, it' s just that the effort and prerequisite to understand the same will increase.
In fact, till the 19th century, the world was under the impression that the cell was the small unit of life considering it to be the building block of all the things that exist.
On the other hand, around 1970 we came to a general acceptance that this is not the case, and that cells too can be divided further. The knowledge we had around 1900 was
less and hence the comparable complexity of understanding the basic element of life was easier than during 1970, but the large acceptance of the idea of dividing the cell
further is proof that a significant majority was convinced with the proof suggesting they understood the idea and accepted it.
Conversely, with a different course of thinking one can say that increasing knowledge about a thing may result in more confusion, in fact when we dig more deeply
inside anything we come across new phenomena that can't be explained as mysterious but with time a plausible explanation does arise. When we first saw the nucleus within an atom,
it surprised the world with no ready explanation of what, why, and how. In the next decade, multiple explanations were coined, and we got the explanation we dreath
of and solved the mystery.
The relation between knowledge and comprehensibility is always subject, for some the same system will be too complex to understand but for some the same system is too easy,
it all depends on the knowledge you carry with you. So, with more knowledge, we actually explain the complexity and mysterious nature of things making them more
understandable.