We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Knowledge is the only way a person can move forward. Anything or anybody could be a source of knowledge if the person truly wants to learn something. Saying that we can learn more from the people who share your own perspective than people who contradict your views is very shallow. Knowledge in any form can be a great source of inspiration, its source does not matter.

Human being have evolved and developed because we learn from our mistake and because many courageous people had the audacity to go against the standard norms of the society and proved everyone wrong. If we would have not accepted such people just because they had different perspective, we would not have developed this far. Everybody has a right to have their own ideology and perspective and that’s what makes everyone of us “unique”, and we have to respect their thoughts and learn from them even if they do not match our ideology.

There are numerous scientific inventions that were inspired from different failed inventions. If they were only considered fail, then we would have much fewer innovations. There is sometimes no right way of attaining something, you have to take your own method and learn from the people who have tried to attain the same even with a different approach.

We can take example of Ramanujan, the Indian mathematician who was heavily criticized during his because of his unorthodox method of reaching to conclusion without any derivational proof, but his theories and formulas are still relevant in the field of Black hole, proving that he was right all along. If the scientific community had shown a little faith in Ramanujan then we would have been much ahead in many scientific fields. Similarly decades later when men reached moon and thousands of space explorations later, there are still people who believe that the earth is flat. That’s what happens to people who refuse to learn from the opposing ideologies, they become obsolete.

Therefore, it is very important to remain humble enough to accept that sometimes your method is not right and there is no shame in accepting that, it is a sign of a more developed and mature human being. Learn from the opposition too, because if we don’t then we would never be able to grow as humans.