"We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views
contradict our own."; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.
Do we learn much more from those people whose ideas are common with us than from people
whose ideas are opposite our own? The speaker claims that disagreement causes stress and
prohibits learning. I admit that unnecessary conflict is detrimental to learning. However, aside
from the speaker, I mostly disagree with the claim, and from my point of view, we learn much
more from those people whose ideas contradict our own than from those people whose ideas are
similar that we share.
Firstly, the opposite idea helps us save people from precarious situations. For supporting examples,
one need look no further than the drug production system. Posit that a particular component is used
for producing the particular diseases. Recent researchers have found that the component that is
used for making the particular drug will cause cancer in the future. This is a completely opposite
claim. If they prove themselves with evidence, it will save civilizations from critical damage.
Secondly, disagreement helps to find the logical thinking gap. For example, in a debate, if the two
teams are in neutral thinking stages, they both consider the opposite logic about the fact and
acknowledge the gap of their own, which helps to find their thinking gap in their study or fact.
Indeed, disagreement shows what is lacking with respect to the opposite and whether the opposite’s
logic is acceptable. In fact, it helps not only broaden thinking strategies but also helps to consider
true facts in a neutral sense.
On the contrary, under some circumstances, we see a countereffect of the foregoing two scenarios.
For instance, in a television political debate where each party tries to show its supremacy to others,
they become dogmatic at the end of the dispute. Admittedly, if they are not in a neutral sense of
considering true facts, it will deter learning. On the other hand, if they are in a neutral sense and
convey the logical facts of each statement, it will help widen knowledge.