We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Learning is a never ending process. The pot of knowledge is never full. Whether it be academics, spiritual sciences or personality development, the productivity to learn is far greater to learn from people than to learn from books. The statement prompts that the abundance to learn is comparatively high when learning from people with similar views as ours than from whose views differ. In my opinion this is true and I strongly agree with it. I support this by elaborating it in two reasons

Contradictory to the physics statement that ‘opposites attract’ when it comes to learning people with similar views tend to learn more the person with views which are agreeable to one. It is a human tendency to incline towards easier paths than towards complex paths. With a person with similar views the learner is in line with the thoughts. He or she doesn’t have to think much or try to accept things which are in contradiction to their views. For example when a school going girl Gregg stood up for global warming and climate change people who had similar views supported her. Many of these people attended her meetings to learn her perspective and approach towards reduction of global warming than the people who did not believe in climate change. So people find it easy to connect and learn from people with same views.

People in general unknowingly like the people who are in line with their views rather than those who contradict. This eventually leads to them tending to spend more time on that subject rather and learn more from them. For example in a class room a student has a view on the strategy on how to execute a math problem. The student prefers to interact more and learn with energy from a teacher who has a similar view rather than a different one. So this unknowing favour toward the people whose view matches can affect the learning process and want them to learn more from them.

Some may argue that people will learn more only when they think out of the box or learn from a person of different view. Even though they do learn few new things this way, it is not true when it is compared to the learning efficiency and enthusiasm when learnt from a person with common perspective.