"We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose

views contradict our own."; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning."

stress while learning can certainly keep one from thinking efficiently. A person needs to have a calm mind when he/she is trying to understand some concept or situations. Not only this, stress can tamper with the ability of an individual to think beyond what is written in the textbooks.

when I was part of a decision making group in my college, many a times I used to have people who agreed with my plan or strategies. it makes things easier to implement when many people are aboard with your decision. it sort of gives me confidence in myself that I have a good plan and I am a good decision maker. So this naturally affects my day to day life decisions as I know that I make good choices.

however, if we think of a scenario in which a group of people agree to you no matter what your views are, then it is certainly a problem. one is no longer challenged by another person while making decisions. this may lead to false self pride and can seriously affect an individual's life or an organization's work. if one does not have people to contradict one's decisions or ideas, then there would never be creative thinking involved. No matter how hard a person may try, there is a limit to which he/she can think. it is always good to have people with different views or opinions while building up an idea or making a key decision as it would bring about the best results. if the famous mathematician, Ramanujan, had the same thinking like his family, he would have never crossed the sea and we would have never got a genius.

In the end, it is all about balance. people may feel comfortable sharing their ideas with like-minded people. it helps one to evaluate his/her own skill as the other person is experienced in the same domain as him/her. But, having contradicting opinion is also good as they might get a chance to self-evaluate themselves. however, it is important for one to keep a calm mind, which can be obtained if one trains it to be when such disagreements happen.