The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The people of a society should not live as sheep, blindly accepting and abiding by the decrees of authority figures. A healthy amount a skepticism should be welcome. That said, the well-being of a society is not enhanced when many of its people question authority. Criticism and doubt can be dangerous when co-opted by anti-intellectual populism that fears information and change. Such effects have been observed in fields of climate science, public health, and the judicial system.

Climate change deniers pose one of the greatest threats to the modern world. The majority of climate scientists - the authorities in the field - agree that the earth is warming at an unprecedented and irreparably dangerous rate. They argue that much of this trend is due to the greenhouse gas emissions caused by human activity and agricultural practices. Climate change deniers endow their belief with the presupposition that God would not allow humans to destroy His creation. Their denial of clear scientific information will directly impact how their elected officials vote on proposed legislation regarding proposals such as carbon taxes. Willful ignorance and distrust of science directly contribute to the detriment of society in this case.

Vaccination is another arena where too much doubt in authority can be extremely caustic to society. Public health officials and epidemiologists strongly urge all citizens to vaccinate children against fatal and extremely contagious diseases. Those few who reject the authority of such medical professionals do so at the detriment of the rest of us. Refusing to vaccinate children can lead to premature death and the reintroduction of previously eradicated viruses and diseases to the human population.

Judicial canon also contests the idea that questioning of authority always contributes to the betterment of society. When President Eisenhower desegregated the public school system in the 1950s, an Arkansas Governor, at the bequest of his constituency, deployed state troops to “maintain the peace” at Little Rock High School, which was one of the first schools in the state to integrate. Instead of assisting the black high schoolers, they prevented them from entering the school. Eisenhower responded by sending military troops to assist in their matriculation. Those troops, while potentially holding similar racist views to the public, were compelled to follow the president’s orders.

Of course, it could be argued that a healthy amount of skepticism is beneficial for any society. This prevents authority figures from taking advantage of the public. However, too much questioning is harmful and unproductive.