Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Governments are responsible for both providing for today’s citizens and paving the way for future generations to come. They should not be parochially focused on solving immediate problems if that comes at the expense of any future planning. Such short-sightedness could exacerbate problems we are experiencing today, and create dilemmas that we would be ill-prepared to handle down the road.

Many of the major problems that governments face today are expected to worsen exponentially over the next fifty years. For example, climate change, which has been ignored for decades since it is a “silent killer,” requires immediate action now in order to prevent irreparable global damage that is anticipated in the future. It is imperative that governments focus money and resources on finding efficient and viable alternative energy sources. These future solutions will help to prevent global calamity and will ensure economies of the future avoid the precipitous position we are in today.

Similarly, the global population is expected to exceed the capacity of current food production in only a matter of decades. Governments should unequivocally be focused on developing alternative food sources -- like insect-based products -- and re-appropriating arable land that is currently used for cattle production and corn to grow sustainable crops.

With regards to U.S. social services, the public school system is becoming increasingly overpopulated, to the point where teachers are incapable of addressing each student’s needs and ensuring they receive a proper education. Schools that are underfunded today contribute to a phenomenon referred to as the “school to prison pipeline.” Under this theory, students that receive sub-par education in underfunded schools are significantly more likely to end up in prison than their counterparts from well-funded schools. The solution to this systematic problem cannot come overnight; governments need to reinvest in schools and social services like affordable housing today in order to reap benefits down the line when today’s students graduate and enter the working world.

It may be true that some of the anticipated problems of the future never actually materialize. Solutions to problems that are very abstract should not be granted as much funding or resources by the government. Matters under this umbrella would be things like artificial intelligence takeover or colonizing Mars. Governments would be better off focusing on acute dysfunctions than trying to tackle those abstract issues. At the end of the day, a healthy balance between dealing with current issues and planning for future ones is the correct approach.