The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The Authority should be questioned in order to maintain the well-being of the society. The Authority has executional powers, which directly affect people and thus needs to be questioned and be held responsible for its decisions.

The Chinese proverb has said it right,"Power tends to Corrupt, Absolute Power corrupts Absolutely!".An Authority without accountablity leads to total greed of power and it needs someone to tame it and keep it in control. People can tame it by asking questions. These questions force authorities to comply with the people and work towards their betterment. For instance, USA was badly hit by the COVID-19 Pandemic. The authorities were questioned for the mismanagement of the Pandemic. Many people criticized the Government harshly through various social media platforms. This outrage pressurized the government to take immediate actions to mitigate the problem. Thus shortly after, the pandemic was in control. Thus people exercised their right to questioning and information and forced the Government Authorities to take right steps.

Moreover, Questioning the authorities helps people to exercise their power on the authorities. The Governments nowadays are controlling the people who elected them to power. An active participation of people in the government can force authorities to think before taking any decisons. For instance, Hungary passed an Anti-LGBTQ bill in the 2019, which was heavily criticised by the Hungarian public and it lead to Massive outrages. Such outrages in Hungary were never seen before which lead the authorities to take people for granted.This outrage forced government to rethink on its policies. Thus, questioning the authority can prevent reckless decision making and prevent its adverse effects.

However, Many people argue that Extensive Questioning and criticism demotivates the authority, leading to slowing down of the development process. This might be true, for instance, Many infrastructural projects like the Kudunkulum Nuclear Plant, in India have been delayed due to criticism from Social and Environmental groups. But one needs to understand that, Authorities are for the people and not the other way round. If certain group of people disagree with a development project, there needs to be a logical argument behind it and it can be solved with discussions between Authorities and affected people. Thus questioning the authority opens gateway for a more fruitful discussion facilitating an all inclusive approach to a certain problem.

Thus, Society can decide their well-being by becoming an active questioner to the authorities thus keeping authorities in the control and prevent them from abuse of power. Ultimately, people have their well-being in their own hands.