When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Should an old building be destroyed in case, modern planners assert that the place taken by the obsolete building may have a better use? Some of us believe that answer on this question is loud "yes", these people cheerfully claim that we should give permission to ruin any historic buildings to create a spot for new modern ones. As far as I am concerned this point of view is only partly true. If old buildings have no or almost no historical value thay may be replaced by new ones. However, if the buildings are a part of history of the mankind and they are embodiment of our hisotry, they should be preserved. In other words, the main criterion which should be used for making a decision about faith of an old building is its historical value.

We often think that old building means a valuable one. However, this position is mistaken and narrow minded. Look around you all these buildings will age over time and one day, perhaps in the 22 century they will be more then 200 years old. But how many of these buildings which surrounded us today will possess any historical value. Our modern urban ares is full of block of flats, outskirts of the towns and cities are often filled with cheap and simple houses which were created with usage of the same plane. In other words, these buildings possess no value for our progeny. In the same vein, buildings which were erected two hundred years possess no value for us. An age of building does not make it better or more important. Thus, age of builinging is not the main criterion for its preservation. If an old building is meaningless, it should be used for new purposes.

However, some of builings which were created by the mankind are our treasury. They are reflect our development and history. Moreover, they are embodiment of the history. For example, the kremlin which is located in the Moscow new the red square are important hisotrical landmark, where the desteny of nation and coutnry was forged by kings, tsars and emperors. The demolishing of such a creation would be an indispensable loss for humanity. This example illustrates that our decision about preservation or replacement of an old builing should be carefully considered.

In conclusion, the possition which is stated in the issue in only partly true. In case, a old building has no merits except its age, it may be replaced; however, if the builing possesses some historical value, it should be preserved.