When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The charm and beauty of any town or city resides on its buildings. There is a reason why monuments have been recognised as heritage sites and wonders of the world- these have so much value besides standing the test of time. I disagree with the notion in the prompt that modern development must be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings for the following three reasons.

To begin with, buildings and monuments are the identity of the place where it is situated. It would be incredulous to argue that modern development should take place by replacing the Taj Mahal or the Colosseum. These places hold a historical value to the place, and, moreover, they bring in a lot of revenue in the form of tourist attractions. They help promote cultural significance of the country. Future generations need to know about the various wonders that man has created, and it would be preposterous to suggest that such important buildings be taken down.

Furthermore, buildings are not just about the history of a place - they tell a lot about civilization as well. It is indeed incredible to be able to see the works of art built so assiduously by mankind. Such wonders never cease to amaze people. Knowing about the evolution of civilization can put things into perspective. Not only that, people can learn so much from their ancestors. To elucidate with example, India has many temples that are so ancient but have withstood floods and earthquakes without suffering damage for the most part. Most of the modern architects, in fact, should not be so flippant as to ignore the engineering marvels that stand upright after several cataclysms, both man-made and natural.

Another reason why modern planners should not be tearing down ancient buildings is because of what they want to create. The world is becoming extremely unpredictable. Governments these days want to build their towns and cities such that they have many high-rise buildings. Take, for example, the New York skyline. With the fast-pacing world, many nations want their buildings to be skyscrapers. It seems like there is not much room left for the planners' creativity, anyway. To create a world where all the roads and cities look alike, having no other purpose but to elicit income is extremely selfish.

Some may argue that there may be buildings which bring no revenue or value, and only exist as a symbol for something archaic. In such cases, it is very well to supersede the building with an architect's vision for something better. As stated before, in most cases it is imprudent to take down historical monuments in order to pave way for modern development. Thus, we can say that there should be no rule of thumb regarding replacing old buildings with modern ones as it is a complex issue, but for the majority of the cases, modern development should not be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.