When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better

used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over

the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Lifestyle of the general public changes drastically over time. This trend is also visible in case of housing preferences. In the ancient times, humans used to live in caves and huts; then we built various kinds of medieval structures, and now we live in apartments and sky-scrapers. As the technology developed and the housing needs sky-rocketed, we started finding more efficient housing solutions, to suit the need to the present generation. This sometimes leads to the need to renovate entire structures from the historic times. Some might argue that, we need to preserve architectural styles from the olden times, and hence it is not correct to erase these structures for building modern houses. But I think that it is sometimes necessary to bid farewell to older things in order to progress into the newer times.

Due to the ever-increasing population of the globe, it is becoming very crucial for our houses and other infrastructure to be more compact, yet have a touch of aestheticity to get a good residential experience. These features are rarely seen in older structures, where the primary focus was to create sufficient-for-life kind of residences. These need to be replaced with the more efficient buildings, to satisfy the needs to the average person.

Any nation which aspires to become a dominant force in the world has to embrace the modern way of doing things, in order to ensure its overall progress. Hence, development projects sometimes lead to demolition of historic buildings, which form hurdles in the newer plan proposed to develop the region socially and economically. These kind of projects must be carried out without hesitation, if the structure does not resemble any precious architectural style of the olden times, and was merely a common housing structure.

But sometimes, we are driven by our desire for luxury, which prompts us to make terrible mistakes with irrepairable losses. Suppose a big hotel is about to be built in place of a historical marvel which is one of the rarest of its architectural types. This is not good for the locality, even though it might benefit the youth economically by producing jobs, as the local people would feel the demolition of the structure as a part of their very own selves being trodden upon. And considering the economic factors, the historical marvel can be converted into an elite tourist spot, which would not only ensure its preservation, but also reward the local communites preserving it by providing new job opportunities.

In conclusion, I feel that modern development must be given precedence over preservation of historical buildings only if it is absolutely necessary for the growth of the nation, and not merely out of the greed of few people who care only about their own welfare. If a historical site is of tremendous cultural or historical importance, it must be preserved by converting it into a tourist attraction.