This is a very generalised statement that Government should put their entire resources in solving the immediate pressing needs of the country rather than the anticipated problems of the future. I agree to the fact that the government should focus on the urgent pressing needs of the nation. However, a futuristic approach should never be negated.

The third world countries like Somalia, Afghanistan is suffering from the militancy crisis since decades. Hence the need of the hour is political stability rather than the investment in the space research. People are fighting over the basis needs- food , clothing and shelter. In this case the governments primary focus should be to bring a political stability and attract the investments which may further boost the economic stability.

In addition, in countries like India and China which has a burgeoning population, there is a dire need for the housing for all and food for feeding the nation. The governments should focus to provide for these pressing needs but the investments in research like genetic engineering can greatly increase the agriculture yields. They have the responsibility to invest in the housing projects through the PPP ( Public Private Partnership) model if there is any paucity of funds with the government. Further, the government can enact the law of compulsory donations through the Corporate Social responsibility , so that they can garner the support of the corporate entities in these goals.

The developing nations such as India, china and South Africa can have a liberal approach where they can allocate some of the resources for the research in the areas which can have an impact in the future. Some may argue that all the nations are still struggling to feed the poor citizens of their country both the times then why allocate any resource for the anticipated problem? This may restrict the futuristic vision of the nation. The tremendous money invested in the satellites launched by ISRO ( Indian Space and Research Organsiation) may have been considered to be a waste at one point of time, however they have helped in a number of ways which is beneficial to the entire world. With the help of satellites, the scientists can correctly predict the pattern of rainfall which is greatly beneficial to India, a nations heavily dependent on agriculture.

Further, the bullet trains which may seem to be a luxury in the developing nations but it can severely reduce the congestion in the traffic in the heavily populated cities like Mumbai, Shanghai, Delhi. It can become an effective means of the public transport if the fares can be properly regulated by the government.

In the end, it can be concluded that Government should put their primary focus in solving the urgent and immediate pressing needs of the nation but should not have the myopic vision for the future. They should also allocate some of the funds and resources to address the anticipated problems because the anticipated problems of today can become the pressing problems of tomorrow.

Governments should focus more on solving the immediate problems of today rather than trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.