Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people 10 to 25 years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months

In the given argument, the author states that the sales of Whirlwind video games has declined over the past two years. However the author concludes that this declining trend of the sales is likely to reverse based on the two premises – (1) The results of a survey conducted reveals that the responders prefer lifelike graphics in the video games which it plans to introduce and (2) An extensive ad campaign is going to be launched by the company to boost the sales targeting the age group of 10-25 years. The explanation provided for this unwarranted conclusion is not very cogent due to the various flaws.

To begin with, the survey conducted by the company is based only on a singular feature that what is the preference of a video game player in playing a particular video game. The sample of the survey is not defined. There is no mention of the age group of the responders who are taking the survey. Further the number of responders is also not mentioned. Hence if the survey has been done upon a very small group, it can’t validate the conclusion of the preference of all the video game players.

The second prominent flaw is based on the responders of the video game that the “Lifelike garphics “ which is their preference in the video games requires the most up to date computers. Hence the latest computers with the advanced graphics is the prerequisite of a particular video game to be very popular. The video game being developed by the company may be of the advanced graphics but is there a sufficient availability of the advanced computers in the area where it envisages to launch its video games should be given a thought.

Thirdly, the author claims to plan a dedicated and extensive advertisement campaign to boost the sales but it mentions only in the targeted age group of 10-25 years. There is a serious discrepancy between the responders in the survey and targeted age group of the ad campaign. It is quite possible that the responders in the survey taken were from the age group above 25 years. This will lead to a mismatch in the action which may even result in the further decline of the sales.

Hence based on the above flaws, the authors conclusion that there is likely reversal in the dwindling sales of the Whirlwind Video games is not comprehensive. There needs to be a proper targeted survey defining the sample space with the number of responders, age group of the responders, their preferences before arriving at any specific conclusion.