Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reasons on which that claim is based CLAIM The value of integrating different disciplines in a curriculum is overestimated in the present times REASON E

The value of integrating different disciplines in a curriculum is overestimated in the present times, the stated claim is not true to greater extent. Everyone has a right to know what he/she likes and for that it is necessary to know fundamentals of all the disciplines. The stated reason supports the given claim, but to know the fundamentals in all the disciplines one should focus on more than one area.

Everyone has a right to pursue what he/she wants. To have a better understanding of the basics of all the areas one must not focus on a single area of study. It is necessary to understand the interest area of an individual to reach a conclusion of his/her own likes and dislikes. For having a clear idea of these likes and dislikes integrating different disciplines is necessary.

Besides fundamentals of many areas are necessary in daily life as well. Nowadays medical field, engineering field, food industry etc are advancing very fast. So, to choose the career one must know what are the basics of those disciplines and should be able to chalk out his/her own likes and dislikes. To understand those likes and dislikes it is much more necessary to understand what lies in the particular field.

Steve Jobs had stated the importance of connecting the dots, that is if anyone has fundamental knowledge in more than one stream it can be applied to create something new which might help in boosting the career to a huge extent. Steve Jobs while pursuing his education, he was also learning calligraphy. He inculcated his calligraphy which is now used as different types of fonts. So, having knowledge of multiple disciplines might help to greater extent.

Hence to understand one's own likes and dislikes, one should have fundamental knowledge. Also, it might help in a problem or may create something more creative and interesting. The given claim and the reason provided for it is not correct to greater extent.