Young people should be encouraged to pursue long term realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition

Today is the age of social media, the internet, and fame. Youngsters, today, are more inclined towards being social media influencers, actors, and artists which results in quick fame and recognition. While it is not wrong to pursue these careers, it has some side effects. I, therefore, strongly agree with the prompt that young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals.

Youngsters are easily influenced by social media to gain short-term fame and recognition, which makes them feel superior among their friends. For instance, during Covid, young people started creating short videos on social media sites like Instagram and TikTok. Some of them did really well and gained a lot of popularity and fame in a very short period. Youngsters, easily influenced by this, started creating videos on social media. However, this fame later faded away with time, so those who pursued it as a career or long-term plan got significantly affected by it.

Whereas, someone who has a clear long-term and realistic goal would stick to it and work towards achieving it by persevering. For instance, Prime Minister Narendra Modi of India, worked at a tea stall when he was young. But he had the goal of making India prosperous in some way. He worked towards his long-term goal and now today he is in a position where he can easily make changes for the betterment of India. Therefore, if one works towards his goal hard enough, he will definitely achieve it.

Moreover, short-term goals and greed for fame and recognition can also lead us to corrupt paths. For instance, there have been many cases recently that came out of social media influencers, actors who bought their followers and subscribers to be better than their counterparts and earn better than them. These malpractices used to succeed cannot lead actually lead to any success but only to punishments.

Encouraging youngsters for long-term, realistic goals instills in them various qualities like perseverance, hard work, importance of failure, and therefore makes them more developed for the real world rather than living in a bubble of fame and recognition.