"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is a vital part of human life. It shapes our personality, develops our ability to think, makes us a better problem-solver, and changes the perspective through which we look at our surroundings. The same national curriculum for students throughout their initial learning period might provide certain benefits but is not a full-fledged way to develop a student's mind according to my opinion. Therefore, I would partly agree with the prompt.

Being able to select subjects of liking in school might create interest in students to learn and study the subject willingly, without anyone having to persuade them to study. When a person pursues something he/she really likes to do, it is more likely that she will succeed in that field because they would be working passionately towards that field. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo, an eminent personality in sports who did not perform seemingly well in the traditional schooling method is now the most loved and inspirational footballer. If he were to be forced to follow the same national curriculum, then he might not have been the best footballer that he is. Choosing football as a part of the curriculum gave him an opportunity to succeed in his life.

However, sometimes having a uniform national curriculum is a better approach for the overall growth of a student. It helps to develop a similar mindset and shape the generation to be good human being in the future. For example, like in the Indian Education system, students till standard tenth, have more or less a similar curriculum, consisting of languages, maths, science, and social studies. This helps to introduce the student to almost every potential career field. If a student wants to become a scientist, not only he has knowledge of maths and science but also in the field of history and geography if in future he decides to change the field of career.

Moreover, some students might not be capable enough to decide what subjects are best for them, their decision of choosing a subject might be clouded by what their friends choose, or what their parents tell them to choose, or what they only at that moment think is great, but in future, they might regret choosing that subject. For example, if a student chooses dance as a subject because he has just witnessed a dance competition and wants to be the greatest dancer, he might later realize that he didn't really like dance as much as he thought. But now he would be stuck to learning dance even if he doesn't want to. Thus having common subjects for every student helps in such examples.

Thus, we can see from the above examples that even though letting students choose their own curriculum has a certain advantage, more or less, having a similar curriculum throughout the school life would help in uniformity in the society as a whole.