Employees should be able to work from home more often.

The internet has forever changed the lives of human beings globally. Not only has it connected people all over the planet with each other and changed communication, but it also affected the usual way and regime of work, as well as created new forms of employment, such as freelancing. Although the internet allows employees to efficiently work outside of the office, many companies still prohibit such a practice. Allowing employees to work from home should be practiced on a wider basis due to a number of significant reasons.

To allow employees to work from home means to balance the eternal “work-family” scales. According to a Penn State study, being able to work outside of the office (at home, mostly) helps to avoid typical conflict situations which arise when a person cannot spend enough time with their family. Besides, working from home relieves an employee of the daily stress connected to the necessity to get to their office regardless of health conditions, weather, family circumstances, and so on.

According to the Work Without Walls survey, among the benefits connected to working from home are the following: a less stressful environment (38%), a quitter atmosphere (43%), an elimination of a long commute (44%), less distractions (44%), increased productivity (45%), saving money on gas (55%), and a great work/home balance (60%). At the same time, according to the survey, the lack of control and the inability to see results of work in practice may negatively affect productivity of those employees who work from home.