foreign language instruction should begin in kindergarten. Discuss.

Language is the most important tool of us as we exchange our thoughts and feelings via languages we use. As human beings we have a special ability to acquire the language. Infant born to this world without a language and he gradually acquire the language of his surroundings. This acquisition process begins with listening and it develops as speaking, reading and writing. When we consider about a foreign language, if we want to teach another language to a person other than his mother tongue, it is more effective to start the process in kindergarten. Moreover there are some other factors that we should be taken in to consideration.

For the survival of this world all people should be able to handle two or more languages, as we live in a globe village. In this case all most all the countries students are motivated to learn a foreign language other than their mother tongue. Psychologically ability of acquiring a language is 100% greater during the age of 3 to 5. This percentage is gradually decrease when they are growing. So it is more effective if the instruction of the foreign language is beginning in kindergarten.

Nevertheless the instruction given in this stage should be more clear and more precise. Because this instruction will be followed by the student forever and difficult to re correct. I thurallly believe that foreign language instruction should begin in kindergarten but it should be done by the experts in the language which is new to the students. Other than this circumstance there should be enough exposure to the language.

In the Sri Lankan context English is tough as a foreign language so it is better if the instruction begins in kindergarten.