Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a notion that those using a foreign language when residing in another nation can lead to various issues. In my opinion, I completely agree with this because it causes isolation and difficulty in carrying out daily tasks

First and foremost, the biggest social problem people speaking a foreign language in the nation they live have to encounter is being isolated. The main reason for this is that it is hard to get to know or make friends with locals when there is a language barrier. This blocks people from expressing themselves freely and makes it challenging for them to engage in daily conversations when they can not understand cultural contexts, jokes, or slang being used. For example, if a person gets invited to a social gathering, but struggles to communicate thoroughly and clearly, they start to feel like they are an outsider. As a result, over time this feeling of being left out adds up and causes them to separate themselves from others.

Secondly, one of the most crucial practical issues people have to face is that it could be exhausting for them to perform everyday tasks. This is because all the information is written by the mainland’s language. It makes them confused and frustrated, for they can not comprehend the directions on the map when using public transportation. Additionally, when they go shopping or eat out in a restaurant, it can get them in a dilemma situation where they are stuck in making a purchasing decision for not comprehending the nutrition facts shown on products or experience a tough time explaining to the waiter that they have food allergies which can not consume certain types of ingredients in their dish. Consequently, this could make them unsatisfied with their current living environment.

In conclusion, when people stay in a country, they need to spend time learning the language in that place. Otherwise, I firmly believe that it could result in plenty of issues which are getting isolated and lowering the ability to carry out daily activities.