A huge amount of money goes towards children’s education. In some countries, the government pays some or all the costs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Governments now understand the importance of education more than ever before. Today they often invest fortune on promoting the quality of the next generation. Nevertheless, some people believe that millions of dollars that governments invest on education cannot justify when there is a greater need for the money elsewhere.

On the one hand, allocating funds on education is profound. For example, state funding creates more opportunities for students who are long for education but cannot afford the cost. As a result, children from poor families feel more confidence in life and more likely to find a decent job in the future. In addition, education is advantage to a stabilized society because schools devote much to teach the matters, such as good citizenship, doing one’s duty and upholding the law.

On the other hand, in many nations, public is dissatisfied with rising food and house costs, insufficient healthcare system, environmental conservation, public transport and so forth. For instance, in China, air pollution is severe because the government ignores the importance of environment protection and merely allocates a small portion of money to it. If a part of the funds on education could allocate to such areas, quality of life would be lifted.

To summarise, investing a big amount of money on children’s education has more advantages than advantages due to its significance for the development of students from poor families and social stability. However, too much emphasis on education would result in less funds on other areas, which can bring disaster to the society.