Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

In the last few years, increasing advances in technology have brought about dramatic changes in the way we communicate with other people. This phenomenon has benefits and drawbacks, but I believe that the formers far outweigh the latters.

To begin with, how has technology changed the relationships we maintain and create with other people? These days, thanks to computers and the Internet, we are able to speak to and see in real time a friend or a relative who lives at the other side of the world. We can share photographs and videos almost instantly, and we can even work from home sometimes.

On the one hand, this have a positive effect on our relationships with other people. In fact, we can keep in touch with our family when we are abroad, and we have more leisure time when we have not to travel to work. These factors improve our friendships and give us a sense of happiness and relax.

On the other hand, technologic means of communication could bring disadvantages if we abuse of them. If we start to use only computers and smart-phones to talk with other people, we may well fall in a completely virtual world. Furthermore, we could make new friends on social networks, and maybe think that those are real friends. However, real life is different: it means going to the pub with friend or to the restaurant with our relatives.

To conclude, technology allows us to keep in contact with people who live far from us. However, it destroys our relationships if we use it to communicate with people who stay at the next door.