Nowadays the way people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

It is undoubtedly that new technological gadgets have influences on communication between modern society. Technology has changed relationships in various ways, and in my perspective, it has both beneficial and harmful effects on users.

There are two ways that social media platforms have impacts on people’s live. In the first place, hand-writing letters have replaced by emails or messages through telephones. Unlike the grandparents’ time, people use letter writing to confess their love to partners, younger generations use messages with a variety of emotional emojis to express their feelings, emotions or send prompt greetings or congratulations of life events instead of waiting for a long time. Secondly, users today use high technologies mainly on work and study to save time. If in the past, the office staffs or students had to go to the companies or schools to attend face-to-face conversations, then at the present, they can stay home, discuss or even study via social media networks such as Facebook, Twitter or online study courses.

Because of these developments, it has both good point and bad one. On the one hand, using technologies on communications is cost-effective and time-consuming. Facebook is a prime example in this situation, users can send thousands messages in a few seconds and access to this platform everyday to acknowledge the latest news. On the other hand, they can result in a decline in people’s basic ability to socialize and interact with each other on a day-to-day basis. The conducted survey in one university in Vietnam (2015) pointed out that nearly 89.9 percent students use smartphones in meetings for chatting and playing online games instead of sharing, discussing or making new friends with each other.

In conclusion, people’s relationships have developed by technologies in two mentioned ways and they document both positive and negative impacts on users.