Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

This is a universally acknowledged fact that for eminent sports like Olympics, football and cricket, fans from the different countries gathers together to cheer up not only their team, but even teams of other countries. Some people hold the opinion that because of the international sporting events, tensions between nations can be ease, whereas others have conflicting views. Here, in the below essay I will try to enunciate both the views with my own perception.

To begin with, many people think that if countries either organize or participate in the sporting events such as football, Olympic and cricket world cup; undeniably these kind of events will help the countries to come closer; moreover will ease in removing the cultural differences between nations. For example, until 1990 there was strife between North Korea and South Korea; however in one of the organized football match, fans from South Korea along with players, traveled to North Korea. Complete fans of South Korea were surprised to receive warmly and friendly welcome from the people of North Korea. Same bonding is seen between these two nations during 2004 Athens Olympics. Therefore, these people think that sporting occasions of these kinds are essential to bring nations closer. On the contrary, other people have conflicting views.

As per them, especially if two nations are having dispute and rivalry, their teams should not play among each others; otherwise it will not only spoil the relationship, but even increase the tensions. For instance, whenever Indian cricket team beats Pakistan team in a cricket match or a hockey match, Pakistan army start firing on the agreed line of control between two nations. Thus, people think that it is better that these two teams play against the different countries instead of playing among each other. The same rivalry can be seen between England and Australian cricket team.

To recapitulate, though, as per the above facts, sporting events can be one of the medium to bring nations closer and help in easing tensions. Nevertheless, one cannot deny that international sports might bring conflicts between the nations.