Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A number of people argue that popular events like World Cup or international sports competitions not only significantly reduce tensions among countries but also manifest patriotism. From my own perspective, I partly agree with this notion.

On the one hand, excessive competitiveness between two nations during a sporting occasion can considerably exacerbate the current conflicts. Apparently enough, if two countries which are expressing acrimony towards each other, compete in a crucial match, the patriotic emotion can run extremely high to the extent that even the smallest indiscriminate actions can instigate unwarranted violation among extreme advocates and plunge participants into the collision course. The apotheosis was the 1970 FIFA World Cup qualifier between Honduras and El Salvador which resulted in rioting and consequently a war between two countries.

On the other hand, via sporting tournaments of worldwide level, citizens can represent their patriotism. It is sufficiently obvious that, such international events will be the golden opportunities for the hosting country to exhibit their beauty, culture and talents to the world, which can be achieved by the solidarity of the inhabitants. Furthermore, that any country successfully held a sporting event can have an everlasting effect and is a metaphor for the combined effort to spread nation’s images. This will definitely the pride of offspring generations. For instances, the first sea game hold by Vietnam in 2003, not only did Vietnam rank first in terms of total medals but also succeed in evincing the culture of Vietnam by applying familiar objects into the design of symbols.

In conclusion, though the actions of hooligans in international competition can aggravate conflicts among nations, it is undeniable that these events can enhance patriotic emotions. Authority should therefore curb these unwholesome activities as when it comes to sports, it needs to only boil down to sportsmanship and superb performances.