Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Nowadays the world is full of advertising in everywhere. People are exposed daily to a large number of advertising in different media such as television, smartphones and internet. However, it can be seen that some of the methods used in advertising are inappropriate and unethical. Therefore, it should be considered unacceptable in today´s society. This essay will present some arguments that support this point of view, and, as a conclusion, will give some solutions to limit the power of advertising on people´s life.

In the first place, advertising establishes standards of consumption and beauty to sell products and ideas, although, these standards are unreal. Consequently, people feel unhappy and incomplete. Thus, advertising leads people to spend money unnecessarily, witch things they think they need. In addition, makes the society more and more consumerist.

In the second place, the development of some media as internet generates a huge amount of information of consumption. Everything that people do on the internet is monitored. For example, one person is looking at a product and makes some searches on the internet. Based on these searches, certain advertising will be showed to him/her. In this way, it can be said that some of these methods of advertising don´t respect the privacy of people.

In conclusion, the standard of consumption is strongly affected by the advertising that uses invasive methods to make people buy, sometimes, unnecessarily. Thus, in my opinion, some politics should be created to decrease the access to personal information and limit the power of advertising on people.