Some people believe that teachers should have responsibility to teach students what is right and what is wrong and good behaviours. But other claim that teachers should teach students academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern society, we have witnessed that teachers are playing important role in education. Whether teachers should have responsibility to teach students what is right and wrong, and good behaviours or teach students academic subjects has triggered heated debate. In this essay, I will look into the discussion and elaborate below.

It is certainly true that teachers should have the responsibility to teach what is right and wrong, and also most important thing is how to become a good character. Firstly, teachers should correct students immediately when they are doing wrong. As students are the learner, if they have done things wrong without any corrections, in their future, they will do the same mistakes again. Therefore, by letting them know when they do thing wrong such as stealing, they may behave themselves and able to know what is right and wrong. Secondly, teachers have been always a role model to students. Students always admire people who have a good personality. In other to change a student behaviours, teachers can make good use of this advantages to students. Treat them well in class, for example, and help when they have done things wrong, talk nicely with them but no punish.

However, there are opposing voices saying that teachers should teach students academic subjects. To begin with, academic subjects are important to students. By teaching core units such as managerial accounting in university, students may master of wide range of accounting. Therefore, when they are taking subjects which related to what they have learnt before, they are able to progress more quickly than other students who major in different subjects such as science. Apart from this, academic subjects relate to students future career. Having studied accounting subjects in university, after graduated, they may find a job which relates to their course, like a job as accountant to work for a listed company. Consequently, it would be students future profession career.

In conclusion, I agree that teacher should have responsibility to teach students to define what is right and wrong, also good behaviours but they should also teach students academic units because it is really important to students future careers.