Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The level of crimes is increasing ever year and the penalty for each crime is a debatable issue. Since the current system does not have a fixed punishment, each case ends up with different results. Having a fixed punishment could make a court to save up the time on hearing the cases and decide on the punishment levels, but this may not be fair of not getting the full picture of cases. This essay will discuss both of these views before reached a reasonable conclusion.

Fixed punishments could save up money by convenience in making of a final decision. Regardless of the purposes of the crime, each case will have the identical penalty decisions; as a result, there would be no further trials or appeal – save money. The individuals, who cannot afford for expensive lawyers, can save their money by not hiring lawyers. Therefore, having a fixed punishment could bring the identical to the law system and there would be no further trial to be held. With those saved money, the government should spend on a much proper way to benefit society such as environment, infrastructure and public goods.

On the other hand, the judgement could be biased for the current law systems (no fixed punishments). For example, theoretically, the robbing the bank is different from robbing the grocery stores. However, the lawyers became materialistic and no longer protect for people who in needs. Even though all the evidences pointed at OJ Simpson as a murderer, the court decided him as a free of guilt. It is one of example of biased of the court decision. Therefore, there is a rise of voices to hear for each circumstance and punish them accordingly.

It is important to acknowledge the full pictures for each case; however, it is the human nature to be biased in the decision making. Therefore, I personally put more weight on fixed punishment than various punishments with the understanding of motivation and getting the full picture of cases.