Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

There are arguments that each kind of criminal should be punished consistently. However, some people are convinced that when the justice makes the punishment statement, they should consider the situations and the motives of a criminal. In my opinion, I would argue that the circumstances and motivation play a critical role to commitment of any criminal, so they should be taken into account for their punishment.

On the one hand, it is sure for say that it finds fair to apply the consistent punishment for criminals who commit the same crime. It enables all citizens to perceive the fairness of the law and no discrimination in the community. In addition to this, this provides all the residents with the full knowledge and information about the punishment for all types of crime, it is the measures to prevent citizens from the crime commitment. Take the capital punishment for heroin trafficking as an example, when citizens have plan to do heroin trafficking, they will be cautious because the punishment for this crime is very heavy.

On the other hand, it can be argued that some individuals commit a crime is due to they face the dilemmas and have hinder reasons beyond their crime. It is explained by plenty of criminal that give rise from being self-defense, and protect themselves from the attacks of other people. For instance, unfortunately, a woman gets raped by a drunk man, then she is self defense and kills this man. In case of this woman, the justice should pay attention to her situation and motivation to make the legitimate statement to her.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against the consistency of the punishment, but I believe that the justice will consider about the logic and cause-effect to make up their minds.