Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes( for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent years, the importance of community service has been felt. In my opinion, this should be the part of high school programmes without any payment for several reasons.

Firstly, involving in unpaid community service provides student with lot of opportunities to develop their skills. As a matter of fact, this is the age for students to develop knowledge and skills significantly rather than acquiring wealth. Several important skills such as social skills, technical skills, negotiation skills etc are well grasped, if they participate in the community service actively. Secondly, it helps spoilt students to bring back to the correct track. For example, if the students are addicted to the drugs, the best way to rehabilitate them is by giving them certain responsibilities, and in such case unpaid community service would be the perfect option.

On the other hand, there are some people who oppose this view point and argue that involving someone in the works without payment is the infringement of basic human rights. They further point out that such practice would affect the other people who service the community with payment, because their job will be in jeopardy, if free services are given from someone else.

In conclusion, involving unpaid community service in the part of high school programmes has both merits and demerits. However, the close scrutiny reveals that the advantages easily outweigh the disadvantages and it is highly recommended for every school in the world to ensure that every student of high school participates in unpaid community service.