1

Almost big companies are proactive in researching and practicing data mining to solve a lot of problems in business, such as Coca in customer acquisition and retention, Netflix in targeted adverts, UOB Banks from Singapore in risk management, Amazon in driving innovation for Amazon fresh & Whole foods project, PepsiCo in supply chain management. Meanwhile, many small companies, especcially small online retailers, are lack of knowledge and expertise to apply data mining in finding out solutions which can help to improve their business results. This article uses data mining techniques to segment customers of an online retailer. The main purpose of these techniques is to help the business understand its customers better, therefore, it can choose the marketing strategy more effectively. The Agglomerative Clustering algorithm is used to segment 3813 instances from the target data set based on four variables as First_Purchase, Recency, Frequency, Monetary into four groups. On that basis, this research shows the main characteristics of each segment, and some recommendations are proposed for the marketing strategy of business.