10.8.2019: Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both view and give your own opinion?

Many people argue that imprisoning animals in zoos is simply wrong, while others believe that the institution of zoos can benefit the conservation of fauna and education. In my opinion, the biggest purpose of zoos is to protect animals, especially endangered species.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why zoos are necessary and must be closed. To begin with, keeping wild animals in small and uncleanness captivities is immoral and the main factor contributing to the loss of their natural habitats. This is because most animals live in social groups in the wild and cannot adapt to a solitary life in the artificial environments of zoos. This deprivation causes many zoo animals to become stressed or mentally ill. Moreover, there is a range of zoos with a business purpose only, not aimed at education. For instance, tourists make the environment more polluted when throwing rubbish and food into cages or surroundings, while zookeepers and staff with a lack of attention only collect entrance to the park.

On the other hand, I still believe zoos still have positive impacts on protecting endangered species. The first reason relates to the conservation that provides a safe environment to prevent wild animals from hunters and poachers. As a result, the number of endangered fauna is preserved, and also zoos offer professionally-run breeding programs to avoid the risk of extinction thanks to animal testing and advanced technology. Moreover, by bringing people and animals together, zoos have the potential to educate the public about conservation issues and inspire people to protect animals and their habitats.

To sum up, it is sensible to conclude that zoos can be cruel, but they do not need to close down just they built the right way due to their help to animals.