Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A number of protests have been raised against zoos, stating that they are inhumane and should be abolished, while other people think they are a viable means of preserving wildlife. These schools of thought will be discussed in the following essay, along with reasons why I am of the second opinion.

On the one hand, there are convincing arguments for supporters of banning zoos. To begin with, they may deprive animal species of their natural habitat. In order to maximize profits, some zoo owners opt to keep animals in squalid conditions. They are poorly treated and often have to live in packed and enclosed cages. In these environments, species’ well-being might suffer greatly from diseases. Furthermore, synthetic settings can lead to the loss of natural instinct. For example, tigers, when they are brought to zoos, would give up hunting as food is readily available. Over generations, they would drop unique practices of the species and become unable to return to the wild.

However, I stand with advocates for the operation of zoos. To individuals, a visit to zoological gardens could be a valuable lesson on biodiversity. For instance, visitors entering African safaris will be shown the wide range of wild animals within the sites and the characteristics of each species. Therefore, zoos can help raise the public's awareness about the state of wildlife in the contemporary world and encourage people to participate in protecting it. Apart from the educational value, they can also introduce economical boosts to an area. Within each region, there are exotic species of animals which can be appealing to foreign tourists. To illustrate, while Serbia has snow tigers, pandas are native in China. The appeal helps increase visitorship to conservation sites, thereby providing additional revenues which, in turn, can be used to improve facilities to better accommodate different animals.

In conclusion, I wholly believe that zoos can contribute to improving the education and economy of a country, despite concerns for their unethical nature.