Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some people that zoos are cruel and animals should not live in zoos. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this notion and my opinion will be discussed in further paragraphs with a suitable conclusion.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why people believe this statement. The first reason is that animals are not free. Since they often live in a certain place, just under 10 m2, and are banned to go outside this area. It is not fair with the animals, they can feel upset and their characteristic wild may be disappeared. According to a study, about 10% of animals living in zoos are in depressed status, which leading to some bad behavior with visitors. Furthermore, animals in zoos face up with overwork, they must perform some funny activities in order to get food or money from tourists. The owners of zoos want to increase their profit from animals, consequently, they have to work 10-12 hours per day.

Explaining some of supporting points in against this statement, it is true that zoos play an important role in the conservation of animals. Firstly, zoos create a safe environment for animals to live, especially with wild species. If wild animals live in a natural environment, they will be caught even will be killed by human as the price of them brings much profit. As a result, some certain species become extinct, or reduce in the numbers of the population. In addition, zoos also provide food, and healthcare services to animals, which could help them to live longer, and rise the total population in some species. For example, a research showed that zoos contribute to preservation 5% kinds of bird escaping extinction.

In conclusion, although some people believe zoos should be closed, I believe that aforementioned points are strongly supporting my viewpoint.