12. In some countries around the world men and women are having children late in life. What are the reasons for this development? what are the effects on society and family life?

In modern society, the delaying of childbirth in some countries is becoming very common. In this essay, we will take a closer look at the causes of this development and its effect on both society and family sides.

We will take the reasons for postponing parenthoods into consideration. First of all, the driving force behind this trend is changing employment patter. A modern woman who is well-educated, confident, and independent, with those personalities, tends to follow higher educations and pursue career achievement. They tend to devote their lives to work and train themselves intensively. They are willing to marriage in the 30s or early 40s after achieved their personal goals. Secondly, young people in modern society, who worship individual freedom, spend more time exploring the world, satisfy their curiosity, and do not wish to be held back by family responsibilities at a young age, thus not having a family is a preferable choice.

Have children late in life has many drawbacks not only in society but family side. Firstly, with regard to families, the ages couple face many risks when they have a child, especially the women. In the age 30s or early 40s, a woman might suffer severe health risks from the prenatal and postnatal periods. Furthermore, the impact of having a child late will cause a significant gap between the two generations. It is hard for a parent to understand and communicate with their offsprings. That leads to constant quarrel and misunderstanding. On the society side, the low birth rate, which the delaying of childbirth caused, put pressure on the labor workforce. The low fertility rate will mean an aging population with a lack of young employees. A workforce with a high proportion of aged people is unproductivity that can lead to the detrimental growth of the economy in specific and thriving nations in general. In addition, the graying society put a lot of burden on the government's shoulder in the healthcare system, the welfare program.

In conclusion, we have known the reasons which caused the delaying of childbirth tendency, and what we have mentioned about its impact on society and families. The government and each individual should create a balance in the marriage age and prevent the negative effect it caused to the whole fabric of society.