2, Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

Nowadays, many individuals have started a trend toward working for themselves, rather than working for a corporation. This essay will discuss some main reasons for this phenomenon and the negative effects that it could cause.

The main reason for this trend commonly comes from people’ willingness to be their own boss and to start their own company. Because of the advent of robust educational systems and digitized information, people are more risk-tolerant, willing to follow their passion. For example, Steve Jobs - the late Apple CEO, whose the products and services changed the way many of us live such as computing, publishing, movies, music, and mobile telephony, is really confident to take risky leaps. Additionally, As a business owner, people see their hard work results in the form of a tangible product or service sold from the company. As a result, they have a stronger desire to control their life and career trajectory, as it affords them both freedom and fulfillment.

However, there are some disadvantages of being self-employed. One major problem in this case is the lack of employee benefits. For example, being involved in a company, people can get holiday or sick pay, while self-employed people don’t. In addition, self-employed individuals have to work on their own, which leads to the increases in responsibility, pressure and fewer opportunities of meeting new friends. It may also negatively affect your communicative ability.

All in all, although self-employment is more and more popular because of some factors, this trend could bring out several undesiable influences.