9as sine children find some subjects at school difficult, they should be optional. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

All children are different and so are their skills and interests, therefore some people believe that pupils should learn only topics that they comprehend easily. I do not fully agree with this opinion, as certain skills, regardless of their difficulty, are necessary to all of us and children very often do not develop a real interest in certain subjects, until later in life. But at the same time, it is important not to overload children with unnecessary knowledge and build their readiness and willingness to learn.

There are many subjects that pupils might find boring or even difficult. It does not mean they are not important. We all need, for example, math to be able to calculate our own wages, biology and geography to understand our bodies and surroundings. Having a wide, but not necessary in-depth knowledge allows us to make sense of the world and leaves all the door open for future development. Let us imagine that math is not a compulsory subject and some children are unable to do simple calculations, as adults they would find it more difficult, if not impossible, to change their previously chosen career path, if they develop a sudden need or interest in science. As we live in times, when adults change their jobs multiple times, we have to keep our education options open and provide a multifaceted approach to learning.

On the other side, children's brains need a certain level of educational freedom to develop to their full potential. Attempts to cram as much knowledge are fruitless, therefore there must be a balance between pupil's individual interests in certain subjects and necessity to provide a wide spectrum of school subjects. In my opinion, British educational system found a perfect solution by introducing a topic based approach, which integrates knowledge from different fields. So a student will learn using different methods, developing a multitude of skills at the same time, learning to integrate different subject. For example, while learning about Egypt, student might be asked to dress up, cook regional food, all that while learning about culture and history. This way the "boring" subjects will be put into practical and more reliable context, making it more accessible.

In conclusion, even tho not all the subjects are equally interesting for children, they are all important, at least on the basic level. Denying pupils access to all different branches of education, would limit their future opportunities. At the same time, it is important to present it in an accessible and integrated way, so kids can see it as more than boring facts, but as an absorbing and always overlapping curriculum.