The advantages of robots doing the basic serving functions in the entertainment, leisure and retail sectors of the economy outweigh the disadvantages.

to what extent do you agree with this statement?

With the development of technology, robots take an important role in life these days, which have polarised public opinion. Whilst the improvement aids the economy dramatically, I believe that there are some drawbacks that may shadow them.

As we have seen, robot techonologies are gradually replacing employees due to their productivity and flawless in works. If robots completely take over jobs in enterprises, they are conductive to widespread unemployment. However , robots are not able to act any different from what they have been programmed to do, which means the company would bear a loss when one thing goes wrong. What is more, they can perform repetitive tasks for a long time but they do not get better with experience such as the humans do.

There is no denying that robotics become increasingly present in all the aspects of life, serving in any sort of recreational activities, household tasks, medical, industrial, military, not to mention banks, hotels. Robots may allow individuals to accomplish their everyday chores, such as washing or cooking, thereby sparing humans more time for important and enjoyable activities. Consequently, they will pose a threat to humanity if automated devices are overused. They can lead individuals to sedentary lifestyle, health hazards will rise rapidly and obesity will be on top of the list. Futhermore, robots would dominate the human species someday, so that the humans have to be independent on the machines.

In conclusion, although the robot technologies are unquestionably beneficial to people at different stages, extending from prospersity to flexible life, I suppose that this innovation would cause more harm than the service they are offering.