The advantages of robots doing basic serving functions in the entertainment, leisure and retail sectors of the economy outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree with this idea?

In contemporary settings, the appearance of robots doing human jobs has become more and more common. Many people suppose that this bring more pros than cons. However, I partly disagree with this idea for the following reasons.

Admittedly, using robots instead of human in entertaining areas or retail stores may save time and enhance accuracy for both customers and shopowners. However, buying a robot can be extremely costly and the shopowner will have to spend a big amount of money on maintaining the quality of that robot, it can be for charging or cleaning, let alone the case when that robot is out of order.

Furthermore, robots can only do what has already been coded, they cannot improvise. Therefore, it would be inconvenient for customers if they want to change something in the orders or if they want to find any particular items at stores. Moreover, complaints by buyers might not be able to be solved by the robots since they can hardly discuss the feedback with them.

Last but not least, replacing human with robots may also lead to some serious consequences in the near future. One of them is unemployment. There would be more people out of work which may result in poverty and even social evils since most of these workers have low degree of education and they might find it hard to get a new job.

To conclude, notwithstanding that using robots for some particular tasks brings advantages to our life, it is still overshadowed by the disadvantages for the consequences that they may be likely to create.