The advantages of robots doing the basic serving functions in the entertainment, leisure, and retail sectors of the economy outweigh the disadvantages.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Replacing the human labor force with artificial intelligence to undertake elementary responsibilities in industries such as show business, recreation and sales are believed to have lots more benefits than drawbacks. In this essay, I will argue that the trend is obviously positive especially when technology, in any shape or form, aims to improve our lives by offering us time to enjoy life.

If we think about it, the three industries function together in many aspects of our daily lives whether we talk about shopping malls or commerce online. Today, retail does not limit itself only to the act of selling goods but also is including a great deal of entertainment and leisure activities. From this perspective, I believe that artificial machines have the necessary means to help us boost the quality of our lives, whenever we want to take a break from work and daily routines.

Robots and technology can upgrade our shopping experiences by offering us assistance. For example, robots would make perfect guides in shopping malls and could help people with disabilities not only to find their way around but also with the carrying of groceries. Moreover, robots could help us identify the best offers and make suggestions for certain types of movies or events that could be interesting to us or to our children. They could serve us drinks or food while we are relaxing on a trace and enjoy a beautiful concert being virtually broadcast using holograms. The benefits are enormous in comparison with the downsides.

This way, artists could be in more places at the same time and still get paid accordingly. Unfortunately, some jobs will be lost of course but new ones will be created as robots can only perform certain tasks and do not have the ability to improvise if necessary. Moreover, robots do not have social interaction skills which are evidently of utmost importance in the mentioned fields of activity. As a result, humans will still be needed but they will only work less and have more free time on their hands.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the statement and I truly believe that this trend will continue to have a positive impact on our lives.