Advertising is all around us; it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It has been recently stated that a significant aspect of our life is advertisements. From my personal perspective, however, we should take into account the negative features of advertising before coming to such a conclusion. Not only are there often inconsistencies between the advertisement and the reality but pop-up ads can also be a source of deep annoyance.

The first aspect to consider regarding the problematic sides of advertising is misleading advertisements. We must admit that when we come across a product which was advertised to possess a number of features, it is not uncommon for us to later feel disappointed because the product received turns out to be nothing like how it was advertised. With the advent of e-commerce and online shopping becoming increasingly popular, it is also easier for someone to get tricked by this false advertisement. If an item is cheaper than the average market price, a number of consumers might become attracted without knowing whether the product is authentic. Besides, businesses, such as restaurants and clothes outlets, are paying others to write positive reviews online with the aim of being competitive and luring potential customers.

From another angle, disruptive advertising can cause as much irritation as does receiving goods that are different from advertised. It cannot be denied that the concentration of a person is disrupted whenever he experiences unexpected emergence of ads while minding his own business. For instance, when a person gets to a cliffhanger from a movie, his mood will then completely change after the unskippable pop-up ads appear. As a result, instead of wanting to buy the advertised products, customers even feel not being respected. In addition, another form of advertising which interferes with people’s daily life is repeated cold-calling and spamming texts.

In conclusion, taking account of false advertising and bothersome characteristics of commercials, hardly can we claim that they are entirely positive. Nonetheless, I still believe advertisements are an important marketing tool for businesses and companies.