Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us want to be or to look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is deemed to play a crucial role in modern society and some believe that they prevent individuality in humans. While I agree with the opinion, I also think that some people are not influenced by adverts.

On the one hand, advertisements affect individuals by showing many continuous unchanged images and patterns for a long period of time. For years, companies have been using celebrities, eye-catching visual effects or emotional stories to draw people's attention and slowly set new standards and norms for the society, only to send a message of buying their products. For instance, toner, a make-up product, wasn't a necessity in 2000s' girls' make-up routines, but after 20 years of advertising, now, toner has become one of the best-selling make-up products. By setting new standards, advertisements are putting pressure on people who differ from others. As a result, more and more people, especially younger ones, are losing their own identities and personal styles.

On the other hand, there are still some people that don't blindly follow trends and they can recognise things that are suitable for their appearance. Not all humans have the perfect body for  trendy dresses or the same love for famous bags. For instance, Harajuku, Japan is a famous fashion street where everybody has their own senses of style and unique features that have never appeared on any advertisements. Also, nowadays, people are becoming more and more conscious of their budget so advertisements of trending but expensive items like Gucci bags or a Lamborghini may not strongly affect their purchases.

To conclude, although there are similarities in people's buying habits due to advertisements, most of them still have personal preferences and unique styles.