Advertising may discourage people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

By dint of all types of media and hoarding, advertisement has become an useful instrument for people to be kept informed with new products of any companies. However, numerous people assume that advertising leads us to be similar to each other in appearance and even lifestyle. From my perspective, this point of view is well-grounded and this paper will provide justifications for my opinion.

It is no doubt that advertisements provoke us to buy the same things in order to follow trends. As the purpose of advertising is to boost up the sales of companies, campaigns for products are usually launched to create a new trend in teenagers. Therefore, to keep up with their friends as well as the world, youngsters will not resist the temptation of spending money although they know they are becoming alike to others. For example, when the new Iphone 12 was out, hundreds of people came to the Apple stores and waited there for hours to possess the brand-new Iphone.

Moreover, a number of people buy the same thing after watching advertisements since that product is advertised by their idols. A large scale of advertisements invite celebrities due to the huge and massive fandoms of them. Thanks to this medium, are the sales being escalated rapidly. Owing to the fact that people who are that superstar’s fan will not hesitate to buy products for supporting their idols and wanting to look identical to their idols. For instance, Blackpink, which is a well-known music band of Korea; once advertised for Samsung Galaxy A70, various of their fans bought that phone so that they could have a phone that resembled their idols.

All in all, I still insist on the view that advertisements render people to look and act alike.