Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

it is irrefutable that the society has been judgmental about various issues, and the corporate world functions no differently.

There is discrimination on the basis of gender, ethnicity, religion and of course, the most important factor, the age. In the following paragraphs I have discussed why differentiation on the latter should be made illegal.

In the twenty first century, we often hear that age is just a number. With medical advancements in place, the life expectancy has increased. This means the definition of "old" has evolved. having said that, it can't be denied that a lot depends upon one's lifestyle, that determines individual's actual biological age. A sixty five year old might be healthier than a forty five year old who has been reckless with regards to eating, sleeping and exercising. it certainly depends from case to case.

Logically, it is performance at workplace that should be the sole determinant of one's rewards and opportunities. Officially, someone might be forced to retire at sixty, but that doesn't mean their will to serve has diffused over the time. You so often meet so called "senior citizens" who are hunting for new doors to open after getting superannuated. From being able to procure extension, to kickstart as visiting faculties to colleges, to supporting non governmental organizations, the instances are colossal that speak volumes on the desire to continue and the capability of doing the same.

However, it is well accepted that the remuneration which an elderly would be provided with will be a fraction of what a younger counterpart is earning. it is time we break these stereotypes and let the "output" do the talking. The power of will,aspiration, motivation,talent and especially, the rich experience can't be undermined. Instead, such people are the real assets to any company.

Thus, I am for the motion. Perpetuation of ostracision of aged from the workplace should be treated as an offense in the court of law. "old" shouldn't be presumed to be "out"!